Health Survey

What is it?

The neighbourhood plan is a
major change in the way planning policy is implemented.  As part of the plan we are trying to assess what people think is important for ensuring the future health and wellbeing of our community.

 Why is it important?

It will enable residents to influence how the village will develop over the next 15-25 years. It differs from previous village plans because it becomes part of planning law. If we do not develop our own neighbourhood plan, South Hams will be able to impose planning decisions upon us. Rapacious developers are likely to get their way.

Who is it for?

Anyone who lives within the Parish boundary ie  Newton, Noss, Membland, Puslinch, Collaton, Gnaton, Creacombe, Preston, Pool Mill, Lambside, Caulston, Stoke and everything in between.

 What can it include that might influence health and wellbeing?

Types of housing; protection of green spaces; transport including footpaths and cycle routes; improved community facilities that might be a requirement put on developers before they get planning permission.

We need to know what ­you think will make the village a better place in which to lead a healthy wholesome lifestyle.

What next?

Please fill in  the questionnaire below and submit it in online.

When you have done so please ask each member of your household to do the same.

We particularly want to hear from young people for whom the long term future of our villages is most important

For those who prefer, please print out the questionnaire and complete it by hand.  Then post/drop in – or scan/photograph and email it to the  address below.        Questionnaire: print version

Duncan Macpherson    99 Court Road Newton Ferrers PL8 1DE

n.b. The information you provide will be treated anonymously and will only be used for the purpose of the neighbourhood plan.


We are fortunate to live in a village where there are already many assets for health and well being. How important are these to you? 

Thank you for your help and co-operation: Health and Wellbeing Working Group members – Duncan Macpherson, Amelia Stitson, Rob Hirst, Karen Turvey, Angela Macpherson